How I Ruined our Valentines day

I am going to tell you two stories. One from my husbands side. His amazing plans for a wonderful Surprise Valentines day. Looking back it is quite obvious he had put a lot of thought and effort into the day and was honestly trying his best to have a good attitude no matter what his crazy unappreciative wife threw his way. Then I will tell you my side of the story and you will see just how much I screwed Valentines day up.

Amazing Loving Husbands Side:

The Cranky PMSing Wife’s Side:

Kids wake up at 6 am So I get up with them and let my beautiful wife sleep in a bit longer. I know she got up a lot last night with our teething (almost 2 year old? or was it the cranky 3 year old? who knows. I was sleeping). So I planned on letting her sleep at least until the last minute before I go to Early Morning Hockey

Kids wake up every 2 hours all night long with something bothering them. It is finally 6 am so I poke my husband awake to get him to take them so I can get at least one hour of uninterrupted sleep. He turns on all the lights to find his shirt. kids are jumping on our bed shouting “Cheerios! cheerios!” They march down stairs and he turns out our light and shuts the door. 

I Go to Hockey because Wife insisted I go because I will be missing the next few weekends due to her being out and about kid free at the spa and the following weekend with her best friends. So I went.

He Goes to Hockey. I know I said he should. But he didn’t read my mind and know that I said he could go last night when I was happy. Now, I am tired. He should have read my mind.

Come home and eat breakfast with my wonderful family.

While he is playing Hockey, I have 3 hours to kill. My son is begging to go for a bike ride. It is 7 Am. We go. I need fresh air. We walk to my parents house (they are all sleeping still because they are not crazy) and I steal some bacon. We drop off our valentines cards and crafts we made for Opa and Nana and head back home, bacon in hand. I decide to make a nice big family breakfast. Its the husbands favorite. Long story short. My daughter cries at my feet until I put her in the Ergo Carrier where she promptly falls asleep. I burn the bacon, Burn the hash browns, and break all the egg yokes for our “dip eggs”. The only thing that worked was our pink pancakes but i forgot to add oil so they stick really bad to the pan. We are out of syrup. I now have a head ache. Husband comes home just in time for daughter to wake up and us all to sit down for breakfast. 

Decide to go to Costco because we need a bunch of stuff for the week and the Kids LOVE Costco. Wife agrees. Bonus! We go to Costco I wait in the line up and pay for it all as she the kids go and get hot dogs and poutine and relax and I do all the unloading and loading and unloading again.

We went to costco on a SATURDAY! His idea. We did need stuff. but who goes on a saturday? The answer to that question is, EVERYONE!.  We get twice as many things as we intended to get (as always) he makes me go get the food with both kids as he peacefully stands in the line up and lets the ladies pack his cart.  There are no tables and the kids are starving so i pack it all up and we go outside to eat. Kids are running around eating hot dogs. That is not a choking hazard at all.  We finish eating and drive home.

Home just in time for nap.

ahh… no one is sleeping in the car. home in time for nap.

I put our crazy 3 year old down for his nap. He gets harder and harder each day to get to nap so I told me wife. ” you take care of our daughter who naps like an angel and I will take care of our crazy non napping son!” He goes down like a champ so I crawl into my bed to catch my own nap. Last thing I remember, My beautiful wife crawling into bed beside me as we drift off to sleep for a valentines day family nap.

Our son is yawning and super cranky as our daughter is the most pleasant little human being you have ever met. Our son goes down no problem. what a rare occasion. I put our daughter in the her bed and close her door. she seems content. I lay down in my bed and just as I am falling asleep I hear a little voice right beside my ear saying ” hi mommy, I’n awake.” I tried to get her to fall asleep for 20 minutes until I just gave up and went down stairs to clean with my wide awake helper. 30 minutes later I had 2 helpers. 

wake up 2 hours later.

He slept for 2 hours!!!!!!!!!!! I slepts for 0 minutes!!

So nap time was a fail. My daughter never fell asleep because apparently she had a cat nap in the morning while my wife was making breakfast and my son only napped 45 minutes.

Nap time was a complete fail!

Angry tired wife.

I am so angry that I am being super nice. I am just waiting for him to make one wrong move and then I will get to release my venom! I have been waiting for this moment for the past 2 hours. Plotting…. Planning…. 

I know, I will take the kids for a drive so she can nap.

Are you kidding me??????? Our daughter will fall sleep if you put her in the car seat for more than 2 minutes! then she wont go to bed until 9!

What? What is wrong with our daughter falling asleep in the car at 4 pm? Of course she will go down for bed time if she gets a short cat nap in the car?

Is he New?

OK, I will just do a five minute drive to the park so my wife can nap. Oh wait. she will still fall asleep. she is falling asleep right now.

This house is a mess and his plan is to take the kids for a nice peaceful drive as our 2 year old sleeps and our 3 year old watches a movie and he gets a coffee at Tim Horton while I stay at home and clean? Who can nap when they are angry and when the house is a mess!?

So I tried to do a nice thing but apparently it wasn’t a good idea.

Worst Idea he has ever had

We decide to go for a family walk with no cars or strollers involved. everyone on their feet. No one sitting. We walk and she seems to calm down a bit with every thing I promise to help clean up when we get home. So far I am cleaning the kitchen and the play room and doing some laundry. She apologizes for her out burst and I willingly forgive her:)

We go for a walk. My idea. My children have had the front row seat to my toddler behavior and so I feel convicted that I should now apologize as I would make them do. Whether I feel like it or not. Although I really could use a Time out! 

As my wife and I are playing Lego with the kids and discussing what to make for dinner my in laws walk in the door.

I am laying on the living room floor in our disaster of a house in my sweets and counting down the hours until I can crawl into bed when my parents walk in the door.

Surprise! I am taking you to the Keg for dinner!!

Surprise. I need a shower! I am excited to leave this disaster and even get to avoid making my kids dinner. plus I get to go for steak that someone else is going to cook!!? He is so sweet:) Annoying. But definitely sweet.

She is so happy. She rushes up stairs and I tell her to throw on some jeans and get out of her yoga pants. What? No. We do not have time for you to take a shower. ok fine. 5 minutes. Hurry! Hurry! Hurry!!

I need a shower. He gives me 5 minutes to get ready and rushes me like it is my fault that I didnt think to have a shower earlier. ? ummm…. I thought I was going to bed at 7. Happy that I get to go have steak, but come one! 

We arrive at the Keg and my wife is still brushing her hair and trying to apply make up. its 545. what? you don’t want to wait 2.5 hours for a table? But you love the Keg? Ok so where do you want to go? I don’t mind waiting. We can put our name down and go for a walk? wow, don’t bite my head off!

Of course its 2.5 hour wait! I thought you had reservation or had put our name down earlier? or something! I ma hungry! last thing I ate was at 12 when I ate half a hot dog because your son ate the other half after eating his own. Now I have to pick the restaurant because you were disorganized? OK. Trying to have a good attitude but all I want is a Keg Steak. 2.5 hours. Are you crazy!? 

We end up going to our favorite Korean restaurant and have a great time.

Korean was delicious and we did have a good time. 

We get home and thank my in laws for watching the kids and I plop on the couch. Phew. What a long day.

We get home and house is still a mess. So thankful for parents who love our kids and take such good care of them. But the house is still a mess.

We can clean the house in the morning.

This house is going to haunt my dreams

I go to the washroom and when I come out. She is sleeping.

I don’t even take my jeans off as I hit the bed and fall asleep.

So As I was writing both sides of the story it was very therapeutic.  I got to vent a little but also try and see through my husbands eyes. He really did have all the odds stacked against him that Valentines day would actually turn out nice:) I was so hormonal and moody you would have thought I was pregnant and over due. I am not! It was not a good day for me. Poor guy. In my apology, I explained to him how I was feeling and what my side of the story was. He listens but I am not sure he actually gets it. ha! 

Anyways. I totally ruined what could have been an awesome day. The lesson I learned was that one persons attitude can control and affect some many people. Especially in a family. My poor children. My poor husband. Poor Future me. I ruined a bunch of things that day by having such a poor attitude and by not putting other people before myself. I through myself a wonderful pity party that lasted all day long. I was so swept up in focusing on all the things he didn’t do perfectly to notice the things that he did with only me in mind.

He is a wonderful husband.

Best part of this lesson is that Next week is our anniversary. So, I get to try this evening all over again. You can guarantee that I will have a waaaaaay better attitude this time around.

-Lion (rawr)

One thought on “How I Ruined our Valentines day

Leave a Reply

