Featured Female: Meet Jessica

Well the day has come, Jessica has turned 31! And she is obviously our female feature. Jessica is my older sister, though we are 3 years apart, sometimes I feel like we are the same age with her fun crazy side and seemingly endless energy, or maybe I’m the older soul? Anyways Jessica is a long time genuine friend, opens her home to all and loves to share as much as she can! So here is some more details about her and how she handles life……

Tell us about your family.
My name is Jessica and I have an amazingly smart and funny husband named Paul and together we have 2 adorable and chaotic children named Ezekiel(4) and Elizabeth(3). I feel I would not be a good mother without mentioning our two children we are currently waiting for from haiti. We are in the middle of the process of waiting to be matched with Siblings from my husband’s Birth country. There isn’t a day that goes by where I do not pray for them or think of them and recently I have been missing them as our family has yet another adventure without them. Feeling super blessed to have two children I can cuddle daily though. They really do love cuddling. I cant wait for our first family hug with 12 arms reaching around each other. Soon.
13275246_10156913056470405_529510639_o
what do you fill your full life with?
I love people. So I feel like I am always finding ways to surround myself with people of all ages. Not a week goes by that I do not have at least one play date lined up. I run a small daycare in my home and on week days take in a few kids. I have recently become a morning person so if you become my friend you will find that it is not a rare occasion that I request a play date starting at 830am. Don’t worry though. I bring coffee.
13288100_10156913082790405_1174493453_o
Nap time is a sacred time in my house. I spend it writing on my sweet amazing blog or doing art therapy:) I love painting and writing and drawing, it has become my outlet lately. My evenings are for the most part reserved for my darling husband. We eat a late dinner and play board games or watch Sherlock on Netflix.
Weekends are where we as a family find time to spend together hiking or camping. It is a rare occasion when we are home doing nothing on a saturday.
IMG_20160508_153242
what is the biggest challenge with daycare and having your own kids or even working from home?
Biggest challenge so far has been feeling isolated. Hence the reason I have so many play dates. I hate to always be the one asking for friends to come to my house. It is a lot to leave the house with kids and I totally get that. But having daycare kids I am more housebound than the average mom. My husband and I share a car (actually it’s a truck) so I only try and use it on the days I have to drive my son to preschool. It is a pain to have to pick up my husband while dinner is being made. But nothing I can’t handle.
what is life giving to you?
Friendships give me life. Sharing with others my heart and listening to theirs. I love nature. I love that feeling you get when you are on the top of a mountain and all you hear is the sound of a bird’squarry wings flapping in the air. Complete silence. I love the sound of the rain on our tent trailer and my little people snoring beside me as my husband whispers good night.
I have recently been meeting my dear friends for walks in the early morning and I have noticed on those days that I am so full of joy and peace.
The thing that rejuvenates me the most is spending time with God. My most favorite times are when I am at church on Sunday and my children are in sunday school and I sit down with my special devotional note book with my special sunday pens and doodle away as my pastor preaches God’s Word. I always feel so alive after as both my need to be closer to God and my desire to make art have both been fed.
13282367_10156913038610405_1417854032_o
What is life sucking?
Being too busy. I have been learning to let things go. Say no. only do what brings you joy. Putting too much on my plate makes me a horrible mother, a neglectful friend, and a lazy wife. Being able to find the balance is hard but so worth it. Which is why deciding to be a morning person is helping me a lot.
what is one of your biggest goals and how are you working towards it?
I have a few. People who know me know that I am a dreamer. I love to dream big. I also am a planner. making lists and trying my best to check things off is important to me.
Family goals. Be an intentional Mother. That one is huge. My kids are still young and I do not want their childhood to be my duty. I want it to be an adventure. As a wife I want to be supportive and fun. I want to not just do dinner and movie for date night. I want to go for hikes and go go carting or to that trampoline room (although I would pee my pants)
Personal goals. I want to start my own paint classes. Painting for adults, painting for kids. Different mediums and different projects. I want art to always be a part of my life. Finding a way to share it with others has been my recent goal.
Starting this fall I am teaching a Typography Class at a women’s program at my church on wednesday mornings called Breakaway. I am really looking forward to that. Sharing what brings me joy with others is a dream of mine.
for your 31st year of life, what is a personal goal you have
31 is a year I want to dedicate to finding God’s call on my life. I know He has called me to great things and there are some big changes coming up in my life and I want to keep Him involved and guiding my every action. I have been blessed with so so so much, so now I want to use it to bless others.
how is faith important to you? what do you do to pursue it? how do you make time for Jesus?
Ooh getting good. I need this question posted on my beside table to ask myself every day. I would have to say each day is different. I am not always motivated or disciplined enough to spend time reading the bible and meditating on what it says each day. But I do find a way to bring God into every area of my life. You will often find worship music playing all day at my house. God is a part of my parenting and marriage. I find I am most inspired by rewriting verses that I have memorized or are trying to memorize. Being out in nature always draws me back to the creator. Faith is so important to me. God has been so faithful and I do not want to take a step in any direction without feeling His Calling on me.
What is something you and your husband do that is your thing? 
oh man. This one made me laugh! You know why right? Anyways I digress. I would have to say that outdoor sports is our thing. We love trying new stuff and are super competitive with each other. Strong marriage, huh:) Last summer we learned how to Paddle Board. We do lots of hiking and are always trying to challenge each other to find new things to do.
13288744_10156913120005405_1456538943_o
what is a way you guys connect? 
Communication and honesty have been the strong points so far in our relationship. We connect each day right after we put our kids to bed. We sit down with no technology and rehash our day. It is nice. I feel like I do not have to explode my day on him the moment he walks in the door and he gets to focus on our kiddos until they are passed out in their beds for the night. I feel heard and loved. I also know for him that it is nice to only have to focus his energy on the kids and not also have to balance his emotional wife:) We also really love going out for sushi. That is our go to. All you can eat sushi and good conversation. Then a walk after to burn off all our calories. (maybe a coffee for the ride home.. wink wink)
any recommendations for books? verses? outlets?
My favorite verse since I was  17 has been
2 Corinthians 12:9-11

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships,in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.



Thanks Jessica! Stay tuned for 9PM for who will win the giveaway!



-Owl

Leave a Reply

