Featured Female: Carlee

I have been so honoured to be one of the many who have watched this beautiful lady go from a single beautiful girl to a married stunning mama. Now as she stands in the middle of owning her own little business we are proud to help spread the word about this amazing lady and the company she started.

 

Name and Business:

Hi I’m Carlee from Tumble and Roar Apparel, an online based kids apparel company. I design all my products myself and have them either printed or sewn locally in Vancouver. I started my shop in December of last year, so I just passed my 6 month mark!

image2

How many years have you been pursuing this passion of yours and what brought about this passion?

I am a mom to a 2 year old boy, Luca and he is the inspiration behind Tumble and Roar Apparel. Prior to becoming a mom, I worked in fashion retail management for many years and clothing and dressing people up was one of my passions! When Luca was born, I started to get into shopping locally for him. I loved finding unique pieces for Luca and supporting local shops was much more rewarding than buying from big box stores.

Around the time of my sons 1st birthday, I started to get that feeling like I was losing myself a bit in mommy-hood. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being a stay-at-home mom and I find it so rewarding to spend my days with Luca. I feel extremely lucky that I don’t have to work outside the home right now. But I also felt like I needed something else in my life that was ‘mine,’ that I could work on and use as a creative outlet; this is where the idea of Tumble and Roar Apparel came from.

Tell me about your family

My husband and I met in University, we both were recruited to play for the Trinity Western varsity soccer teams. I grew up on Vancouver island and my hubby Nick grew up in Montreal, so when we met you could say we were quite different; think island girl meets city boy. We became friends fast and by our second year we were officially a couple.

We married in 2010 in Nick’s hometown of Montreal and welcomed our baby boy Luca in 2014.

image5

How do you balance work and home life?

Oh this is a sticky question! I would love to say that I have dedicated hours for my Tumble and Roar workload and that I have a Pinterest-worthy, beautifully organized workspace…. But that isn’t always the case. Life with a toddler is unpredictable and chaotic, so I try my best to do the majority of my work for Tumble when Luca is napping or asleep for the night. But emails and orders need to be checked and filled and that sometimes happens right in the middle of lunchtime or backyard playtime. It’s a complete juggling act- and sometimes I feel like a super mom and sometimes I feel like a super failure; but in the end, the work gets done and the playtime never stops with a 2 year old!

image4

What is your goal for you company?

My goals for Tumble and Roar really correspond with my family life. I want to run a successful at-home business that brings me joy and fulfillment, but this business cannot get in the way of my first priority: my family. This business fulfills a passion of mine, but I do and always will put my job as mama bear first!

I love the creative process of designing something from nothing and seeing it come to life! When I receive photos back from customers of their little ones rocking one of my designs, the feeling is indescribable! My goal is to make my customers happy; I want them to love my designs and the quality of the pieces. Being a mom myself, I only create and sell items that I would dress my own child in. I focus on creating unique pieces that are high quality and comfortable.

What is your outlet?

When I need to clear my head- I go for a run or head to the local yoga studio. These two activities are my outlets; they are my therapy.

What motivates you?

I am SO motivated by some of the amazing people in my life; especially my fellow mama friends. I am always so humbled and inspired by how strong and selfless these woman are. Spending time with other moms is so rewarding to me because it is such a community and every family is so different and dynamic, but all these moms are killing it and are rock stars in my eyes. These ladies motivate me to be a better mom, better wife, better friend, and better business person whenever we connect.

image3

What sucks the life out of you?

There’s a saying we used to use in my old occupation of ‘eat the worm.’ This message relates to your ‘to do’ lists and conquering the thing on there that is most annoying, most bothersome and most difficult. A common habit is to ignore that ‘worm’ and check off all the other items and are more enjoyable. (Isn’t is so satisfying to check items off a list?!?) However, that ‘worm’ will just haunt you and weigh on you until it’s done; hence ‘eat the worm!’ Get rid of it first!

When I don’t ‘eat the worm’ and the same daunting task rolls over on my weekly to do list from week to week…. the life gets sucked out of me! I really should learn from this lesson, but it’s one that repeats itself much too frequently- oops!

image6

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

In ten years I see myself being THAT carpool mom, driving kiddos to school and activities and loving the mom-life. I hope I’m sitting on the soccer field sidelines with my other mom friends, with coffee in hand, watching our mini’s play their little hearts out! My hubby will be there on the sidelines too- probably coaching!

What does your dream retirement look like?

I hope it’s filled with family, friends and happiness; whatever that may look like in 30+ years 🙂

Thank you so much Carlee for your honest answers and for sharing your creativity with the world. So inspired by your heart for motherhood and for making something that is your “own”. Keep it up lady.

Also, Thank you for your generous donation of a T-Shirt for one of our very lucky followers.

image1 (2)

Stay tuned tonight at 6pm PST for the announcement of our give away! Check out and follow tumble and roar and you will soon become as in love with their toddler clothes as we are.

Instagram : @tumbleandroar

Facebook: tumbeandroar

Web site:  tumble and roar 

 

-lioness and Carlee!

 

One thought on “Featured Female: Carlee

Leave a Reply

