Mother’s Day Feature #5- Lena Shaw


Tell us a little bit about your family and how long you have had your business up and running?

My husband and I have two little girls, Monroe (4) and Selma (2). We met on our first day of going to University in Victoria and the rest is history. I started Mosie’s Cozies 4 years ago when I was on maternity leave with Monroe.

What was the inspiration behind starting your own business?

As soon as Monroe was born, I immediately started making her headbands. She got lots of compliments when we were out and about each day, so I decided to start selling them out of my stroller when we were at the park, at the grocery store, etc.

What is your favorite part about running your own business?

Running my own business has allowed me to be home with my girls. It’s been so nice to be with them during these precious times of being little. It certainly goes by quick!

When do you find time to fit in work? Do you have a Nanny, childcare, or house cleaner? How do you balance it all?

I am lucky to have both my parents, as well as my husband’s parents who each help at least one day a week. I also have an amazing friend (who also is a nurse, who also is my headband seamstress) who watches the girls once a week. I also try to fill orders during naptime, as well as on weekends when my husband is home to help. I don’t usually work when I have the kids myself during the days where it is just me because I can’t give myself fully to my kids, or my work. It’s a tough one to balance.

What was the greatest advice you have received since becoming a parent or since starting your own business that has helped you?

With parenting, I’ve found that you can read all of the books, and articles there are out there but until you are in it and are experiencing it yourself, you don’t fully know how it will all go. There are so many different parenting styles, and all babies and kids are unique. Do things the way you feel are right, and all will work out. With the business, it’s definitely a learn as you go experience. I have connected with so many other small business owners, who give advice and share what works and what doesn’t. I think the best way to keep going is asking for help when you need it.

What has been your greatest hurdle when it comes to running your own business and raising your family? Definitely finding the balance and trying to figure out the most efficient way to get things done. How do you balance your other relationships in your life (such as friends, parents, partner?) If there is anything, I make time for my relationships. It has always been important to me and I’ve always kept it a priority to keep these up. I work really hard when it’s my “work” day, and try to turn it off when I’m “off”.

What did you want to be when you were younger?

I always wanted to be a cleaning lady when I was young. I remember staying at hotels with my family and desperately wanted one of those cleaning carts!

What careers have you had I the past that led to where you are today?

I’m actually a school teacher in the Surrey School District and recently have gone back to subbing. I’ve taken an extended (2 year leave) to focus on my business and am excited to be going back once a week in the fall.

What advice would you give someone just starting out?

Take it day by day, week by week, and month by month. Don’t allow yourself to get caught up in the world of social media, however, allow yourself to grow by using it. Make connections, ask for help, and find those friends who pick you up and support you.

What would your dream Mother’s Day look like?

Sleeping in and waking up to sunshine! Spending time with my little family and eating delicious food together without any distractions (from work haha).

 

WINNER IS—— SANDRA NEMETH!- congrats mama

Leave a Reply

